The CIAT Conservation Accreditation Register identifies Chartered Architectural Technologists competent in the conservation of historical buildings and their surroundings.

About the scheme 

CIAT’s Conservation Accreditation Scheme is recognised by Historic EnglandHistoric ScotlandNorthern Ireland Environment AgencyCadw (Welsh Government historic environment service) and The Heritage Lottery fund for its members to act as lead consultants on grant/fund aided projects. 

Suitability for the Register is based upon a technical assessment of a candidate's portfolio followed by a formal interview. This Register is relevant for those working in the UK, but applicants from other countries may also apply.

CIAT will inform candidates of the outcome of his/her portfolio assessment and the interview will be arranged for a mutually convenient time thereafter.

For full details on the Conservation Register Scheme see our Conservation Register Scheme Handbook.

A useful resource for understanding the conservation accreditation process is

Eligibility criteria and evidence requirements

CIAT has two routes to Accreditation:

CIAT-Accredited Conservationist – In order to attain Accreditation, candidates must be practising in a conservation related field and must be able to demonstrate their competence against the five units through conservation projects carried out in practice. Candidates can provide five projects or choose to use several elements of projects and projects must be no more than three years old. In order to remain on the Register, candidates must retain currency in the field of conservation and this must be demonstrated to the Institute every five years. This route is recognised by grant/fund providing bodies as identified above.

CIAT-Recognised Conservationist (non-practising) - CIAT recognises that some of its members, although having sufficient knowledge in the area of conservation, may not be practising in this area and will therefore be unable to demonstrate the competence required through the conventional assessment route. Instead, CIAT will accept five case studies (hypothetical examples) prior to awarding the designation of CIAT—Recognised Conservationist (non-practising). Candidates choosing this route will have to meet the same competences as the above route but will not be recognised by grant-fund providing bodies.

For full details on the eligibility criteria and evidence requirements see our Conservation Register Candidate Guidance Notes.

Scheme outline

There are five units within the scheme:

  1. Philosophy of Conservation
  2. Implementation and Management of Conservation Work
  3. Investigation, Materials and Technology
  4. Social and Financial Issues
  5. Implementation and Management of Conservation Work
  6. For full details on the scheme outline see our Conservation Register Candidate Guidance Notes.


The Institute will charge £150 joining fee which covers the cost of assessment. This fee is subject to change but is correct at the time of publication. Applicants who are unsuccessful are advised to re-apply at a later date and will incur a re-application fee of £60.

There is also an annual subscription fee of £60 – again subject to change - payable from 1 May, for continued inclusion within the Register.

For those joining the Register after 1 November, there is a 50% reduction in this fee. There is no additional joining fee for re-assessment after 5 years except if an interview is required in which case the fee is £100 (subject to change).

Useful links

English Heritage has published a major document, Conservation Principles, Policies and Guidance, that sets out for the first time the fundamental propositions that serve as the foundation for the way the organisation engages with every aspect of the historic environment. Download your copy here.

The International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS) has established the need for a common approach to education and training for built environment conservation professionals. ICOMOS has published their Education and Training Guidelines suggesting the skills outlined in the scheme handbook arenecessary to act as a conservation specialist. To read the ICOMOS guidelines click here

See more: