The Institute is funded by its members and governed by its Council and Executive Board.

The Council, Executive Board and its sub-committees are comprised of members, and external specialists who give their time voluntarily. The administration for the Institute is overseen and led by the Chief Executive at Central Office.


Council is the Electoral College and Strategic Forum for the Institute. Each Region and theRepublic of Ireland Centre elect a Regional/Centre Councillor for three years and that elected Member has a seat on Council. Centres, other than the Republic of Ireland, elect a Centre Councillor for remote contact.

All Regions and Centres have voting rights on Council. For Centres, excluding the Republic of Ireland Centre, they are eligible to vote on substantive issues by sending their proxy vote before the Council meeting to the Chief Executive.

Substantive issues are:

  • elections of President Elect and Honorary Officers
  • annual budget
  • audited accounts
  • Council backed AGM Resolution(s)
  • other items of strategic importance

Council comprises:

  • the President
  • President Elect/Immediate Past President
  • Honorary Secretary
  • Honorary Treasurer
  • the Vice-Presidents
  • seventeen attending Councillors
  • six remote Councillors
  • the Chief Executive

It meets twice a year, in the spring and autumn, unless otherwise arranged. The Chief Executive does not have voting rights.

The role of council is:

  1. to be the Strategic Forum for the Institute;
  2. to elect the Honorary Officers as detailed in the Bye-laws and Regulations;
  3. to elect four Councillors on an annual basis to the Executive Board to serve as Trustees;
  4. to elect two Councillors as deputies to attend the Executive Board meetings if the elected Councillor Trustees are unable to attend. Deputies have no voting rights;
  5. to consider and subsequently approve or reject the objectives for the year tabled by Executive Board;
  6. to elect Councillor representatives onto the Institute’s Committees;
  7. to review the work of the Institute and receive reports from Executive Board;
  8. to receive copies of Executive Board’s communications including support papers and minutes;
  9. to resolve, if necessary, to remove from office any member of any Committee who in the opinion of the Council consistently fails to or becomes unable to carry out the duties required of him as a Committee member and elect a replacement; and
  10. to resolve, if necessary, to remove from office a member of Executive Board by a resolution of the Council.

Executive Board

Executive Board, which is made up of Trustees (maximum of twelve), together with the Chief Executive (who does not have voting rights), is responsible for the implementation of the Strategic Plan and Corporate Plan as approved by Council. It makes guidelines for the conduct of business of the Institute, in line with the rules of the Institute and policy. As such, Executive Board is distinct and separate to Council.

Executive Board comprises:

  • the President
  • President Elect/Immediate Past President
  • Honorary Secretary
  • Honorary Treasurer
  • the Vice-Presidents
  • four elected Councillors 

The Councillors are elected as Trustees on an annual basis by Council at its meeting held in the autumn. There are also two deputy Councillors elected, should any of the serving four be unable to attend a meeting. They do not have voting rights. The Chief Executive sits on Executive Board as its secretariat. It meets a minimum of four times a year, with two meetings being in conjunction with the Council meetings.