Recognising excellence in Architectural Technology globally, the AT Awards | Excellence in Architectural Technology are open to all professionals, whether based nationally or internationally. The Award for Excellence in Architectural Technology comprises of three categories:

  • small to medium size projects, up to the value of £2 million¹ 
  • medium to large size projects, +£2 million up to the value of £10 million¹ 
  • large to mega size projects, +£10 million¹ 

Architectural Technology is a creative and innovative design discipline which integrates architecture, science, technology and engineering.

Architectural Technology forms the link between concept, innovation and realisation of a building or structure. At its heart is the technology, buildability, functionality and performance of the design, taking into consideration materials, innovative processes, production techniques and sustainability, all in compliance with regulatory, statutory and legal requirements.

Why enter the AT Awards | Excellence in Architectural Technology?

  • To gain recognition for you, your practice and your project.
  • They are open Awards, which allows any individuals and/or practices from all built environment disciplines to enter projects of all sizes — there are no restrictions.
  • The entries are rigorously judged and peer assessed by a panel of experienced Chartered Architectural Technologists.
  • Award winners receive promotion across the Institute in print and online and are featured on in a dedicated AT Awards section.
  • If you are a Finalist you can promote this to your clients, potential clients and all other networks and colleagues.
  • Finalists receive a Finalists logo to promote their achievement and winners will also receive a customised logo once announced.
  • Winners and their projects are featured on the Institute's website, promoted and featured at the annual AT Awards event where winners are announced, featured in Architectural Technology Journal and through our social media channels.
  • Your practice and project receive a plaque for display.

Who can enter?

As a global discipline, entries are invited from across the world and these Awards remain open to all individuals and/or any practices (they do not have to be CIAT members or a CIAT Chartered Practice) for projects of all sizes (whole, or part of). Projects entered must have been completed within the last five years (post 2017).

Criteria for submission

Submissions will be assessed in terms of their design context, concept and creativity against their response to Architectural Technology, relating to function, fabric performance and delivery.

Each entry will be assessed against the following criteria:

  • buildability and assembly
  • functionality and inclusivity
  • innovation and sustainability
  • performance and robustness

Your submission should be clear and readable including drawings, illustrations, images, written specification or other report documentation for the project. It should be presented in no more than two A2 presentation boards and two A1 detailed design drawings (boards to be supplied electronically as PDFs). Please do not include QR codes in your submission as these will not be accessed by the Judging Panel and the minimum text on the boards should be 8pts.

There is a £80 (plus VAT) application fee.


Entries are judged and peer assessed by the Judging Panel for Excellence in Architectural Technology irrespective of size, complexity, location or style, taking into account constraints of the brief, budget and timescales. 


Winners receive:

Winner (first)
a plaque for permanent attachment to the building and for the winner, a trophy, a certificate and logo.

Highly Commended (second)
a plaque for permanent attachment to the building and for the winner, a trophy, a certificate and logo.

Commended (third)
a plaque for permanent attachment to the building and for the winner, a trophy, a certificate and logo.

Promotion of winners:

  • Use of a customised AT Awards logo.
  • Press release.
  • Features and films on the website and social media channels.
  • Promotion at future events.
  • Case studies.
  • Promotion before, during and after the AT Awards event.
  • Promotion of the plaque presentations.

AT Awards plaques: presentation event

  • The AT Awards plaques are specially made for attachment to the winning project and to present to the winner.
  • The plaques are presented at the project and the event is especially tailored to suit the project.
  • The wiinning project plaque is presented by the President (if unavailable by the President Elect or a Past President) and Chair of the Judging Panel. Others are presented by the local Region or Centre.
  • Other guests are invited linked to the project or CIAT locally.
  • Local dignitaries and press may also be invited.
  • The plaque presentations are promoted via CIAT's media channels; print and electronic.

Entry conditions

  1. Winning submissions remain the property of CIAT and will be used in publicity material accordingly.
  2. The application form must be completed in full in the prescribed format, together with the entry fee.
  3. The building owner and/or client must have given written consent for this application to be made.
  4. Entries submitted without all the criteria for entry (as stated) or after the closing date will not be judged.
  5. The building or part of the structure being submitted must have been completed within the last five years.
  6. Once the application has been submitted, no refunds can be made if the application is later withdrawn.
  7. Confidentiality will be observed in respect of the information associated with the submitted entry.
  8. Judges reserve the right to accept or reject entries.
  9. Judges reserve the right to not make an award in any category.
  10. There will only be one winner, one highly commended and one commended in each category in any one year. 
  11. A project may be entered into any of the categories but if selected will only be a Finalist for one. This will be decided by the Judges.
  12. The Judge's decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.

Additional information

All queries should be directed to [email protected] 

¹ or equivalent money for international entries.

Sponsored by






Key dates
Entries open:               Monday 5 February 2024

View previous winners